What Is An RTO? - RTO 9

What Is An RTO?

RTO stands for Regional Tourism Organization. RTO’s are independent, not-for-profit, industry led organizations governed by a Board of Directors. There are currently 13 RTO’s across the province of Ontario. We are RTO9, located within the South Eastern Ontario borders. 

The purpose of RTO9 is to support the tourism industry and attract tourism visitors within the region of South Eastern Ontario. South Eastern Ontario encompasses destinations such as: Cornwall, Stormont Dundas Glengarry (SDG Counties), Leeds & Grenville including the 1000 Islands and Rideau Canal Waterways, Brockville, 1000 Islands Gananoque, Kingston, Frontenac County, Lennox & Addington, Prince Edward County and the Bay of Quinte. 

Our organization works closely with Destination Marketing Organizations, Destination Marketing Programs, municipalities, counties and independent business owners to explore strategic projects and programs to support and grow tourism. This is done through our consumer brand South Eastern Ontario, plus other initiatives such as our Partnership Fund Program. RTO9 also supports the tourism industry through research & economic impact studies, industry workshops, and product development.

Visit our About Us page and our Welcome Kit for more information on how the RTO9 fits into the broader hierarchy of tourism organizations.